Sapporo Mugi to Hop The Gold | Extra Malt

2016_Sapporo_Mugi_to_Hop_Extra_Malt_ - 1

Japanese Name: サッポロ 麦とホップ The gold Extra Malt
Brewer: Sapporo
Release: Feb. 2, 2016
Type: Happousei (発泡性)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥143 @Sankus

2016_Sapporo_Mugi_to_Hop_Extra_Malt_ - 2

Tasting Notes:
Back in 2014, Sapporo changed the recipe of the popular third tier brew Mugi to Hop, which just happened to be my beloved daily brew. At that time, I didn’t like the change, but there was nothing else compelling me to change brands so I got used to it. This month, Sapporo did it once again, proclaiming the addition of more malt than ever before! For better or worse, I’ve got a case sitting in my fridge.

From what I can tell, Extra Malt pours out a tad darker than the previous brew. The first gulp yields a very rich flavor with a nice amount of bitterness right off the bat. It has a wonderfully full body and a lot of malt flavor.

For a third tier brew, this new Mugi to Hop gets darn close to a true Japanese beer flavor. I really love the bitterness and its full body. For someone living on a budget, Mugi to Hop The Gold Extra Malt makes a great value play, and continues to be my new genre favorite.

This entry was posted in Liqueur (Happousei) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sapporo Mugi to Hop The Gold | Extra Malt

  1. berndte says:

    It’s certainly not great but if you want to save some money, it’s a good alternative I think. The bitterness really helps and makes it enjoyable for me.

Leave a Reply

