Kirin Ichiban Shibori: Nagoya-Zukuri

2015_Kirin_Ichiban_Nagoya_ - 1

Japanese Name: キリン 一番搾り 名古屋づくり
Brewer: Kirin
Release: May 19, 2015
Type: Japanese Beer (ビール)
Alcohol: 5.5%
Purchase Price: ¥224 @Lawson

2015_Kirin_Ichiban_Nagoya_ - 2

Tasting Notes:
Kirin has nine breweries spanning the country, each took on the task of producing their own local brew that works best with the water and regional ingredients. Last year, in addition to a limited regional release, Kirin made these special brews limitedly available through a special ad campaign. However, since I don’t live in proximity to a Kirin brewery and don’t drink enough Ichiban to participate I never thought I’d get to try one of these special brews. But a chance stop at my neighborhood Lawson, yielded this find. The Ichiban Shibori Nagoya Brew!

Nagoya-zukuri pours out a very deep golden color in the glass, much deeper than the standard Ichiban. It has a very distinct malty aroma, very rich and bready. The first gulp is full of flavors of malt, green apple, and a lovely bitterness on the finish.

For a winter purchase, Nagoya-zukuri fits very well with the season. Rich and hearty, this Ichiban Shibori drinks well on its own, and can stand up to more flavorful Japanese winter dishes like my favorite, cream stew. I don’t know how widely these regional brews are being released and frankly I was surprised to see this one at my neighborhood Lawson. Being the first I’ve tried of this series, I really want to get my hands on more!

2015_Kirin_Ichiban_Nagoya_ - 3

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

