YO-HO Brewing: Boku Biru, Kimi Biru.

2015_Yoho_Boku_Biru_Kimi_Biru_1

Japanese Name: ヤッホー・ブルーイング 僕ビール、君ビール。
Brewer: YO-HO Brewing
Release: Oct. 2014
Type: Japanese Beer (ビール)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥278 @Lawson

2015_Yoho_Boku_Biru_Kimi_Biru_3

Tasting Notes:
For the past year I’ve seen this beer posted by my friends in Tokyo and Kansai over and over, but it was only last week that I saw Boku Biru, Kimi Biru (For You & Me Beer [sic]) on the shelves of my local Lawson. Boku Biru, Kimi Biru is a saison style beer made with barley malt, wheat malt, and hops.

This beer pours an opaque straw color in the glass, it’s somewhat cloudy compared to the usual Japanese beer. Its nose is very fruity with bitter undertones. The flavor is on the lighter side, quite citrusy even bordering on sour. Going through the glass, the flavors do mellow out, leaving a decent amount of bitterness on the palate.

Starting out, I wasn’t sure about the flavors of Boku Biru, Kimi Biru. I found the bitterness and sourness quite off-putting. However, as I come to the end of this glass, the flavors have mellowed and this beer has grown on me. Although the front end’s flavors have pretty much disappeared, the finish is quite nice. It has a decent amount of bitterness and the slight hint of grapefruit is delicious. Hopefully, you’ll find a can at a Lawson near you.

2015_Yoho_Boku_Biru_Kimi_Biru_2

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to YO-HO Brewing: Boku Biru, Kimi Biru.

  1. Tavis Allen says:

    I tried this this past summer. I rather liked it, and felt it succeeded in its Saison aspirations.

    • DM says:

      It was decent; I’ll definitely have to try it again, though. I felt the flavors were too much, then not enough… and wished it was just a smoother transition.

  2. As a newbie when it comes to anything beyond ‘drink it or dump it’ I’m pleased that I was able to call out the two top flavour / tasting notes (as listed by your post / comments) – especially the grapefruit! As it is grapefruit season at the moment, probably not a surprise as the flavours are recently experienced.

    • DM says:

      Thanks for your comment! Beers with flavors like this are unusual on the store shelves in Japan. Was is drink it or dump it for you?

Leave a Reply

