Grand Kirin Izayoi no Tsuki IPA

2015_Grand_Kirin_Izayoi_no_Tsuki_2

Japanese Name: グランドキリン 十六夜の月(イザヨイノツキ)
Brewer: Kirin
Release: Sept. 1, 2015
Type: Japanese Beer (ビール)
Alcohol: 5.5%
Purchase Price: ¥255 (330mL) @Popula

2015_Grand_Kirin_Izayoi_no_Tsuki_5

Tasting Notes:
A review coming a little late, I never thought I would get my hands on Grand Kirin’s newest beer, Izayoi no Tsuki. I saw it in the convenience store cooler on several occasions, but put off buying it until well into October. When I was ready to buy it, none of the conbinis that I usually go to had it in stock. So, I searched all over town and it was nowhere to be found. Luckily, this evening I visited my last hope, and there it was, a whole line of them on the bottom shelf. As with previous releases, Izayoi no Tsuki uses Nelson Sauvin hops to create a “kiwi” style pale ale, staying true to their New Zealand origin.

In the glass, Izayoi no Tsuki has a pale golden color. A very fruity and sweet aroma of lychee permeates the air as it is poured. Flavors on the front end are thick with the fruitiness of the hops along with undertones of freshly cut grass. Mid-palate, these flavors pretty much disappear, leaving the mouth in a bit of a lonely state until the grapefruit-like bitterness kicks in on the back end.

Grand Kirin’s newest beer had a lot of promise right from the start. I loved the aroma and the fruity flavors on the front end, but ended up wanting them to linger in my mouth longer than they did. However, as I continue to go through the glass it is quite an enjoyable beverage, because those flavors keep you reaching for that third and fourth gulp, and eventually another bottle. Izayoi no Tsuki, being a fall limited beer, is disappearing off the shelves quickly. I spent a good deal of time before finding one at a nearby convenience store. If you haven’t tried it yet, the search is worth the effort.

2015_Grand_Kirin_Izayoi_no_Tsuki_1

2015_Grand_Kirin_Izayoi_no_Tsuki_4

2015_Grand_Kirin_Izayoi_no_Tsuki_3

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grand Kirin Izayoi no Tsuki IPA

  1. rodel says:

    While I do have access to good IPAs, but can’t afford to pay ¥500 for a half pint often at all, so these guys are pretty wonderful. Even compared to the other IPAs I could get, American or Okinawan, this is a rather different tasting beer and appreciate it. I do wish it came in a 6 pack for $8. Unfortunately, this one will cease to be on the shelves, but all of Kirin’s fancy stuff (http://www.rhizomecomic.com/fancy-pants-kirin-ichiban-beers/) that I’ve tried I liked. I’m still on my third month here, so it’ll be exciting to see what other cool stuff they come up with for me to try.

    • DM says:

      Kirin is doing some excellent stuff with its Grand Kirin line, and I love that a lot of it isn’t limited production so I can get some tasty brews to open with my $400 diamond encrusted gold bottle opener.

Leave a Reply

