Orion Shikwasa Beer Cocktail

2015_Orion_Shikwasa_Cocktail_1

Japanese Name: アサヒオリオン シークァーサーのビアカクテル
Brewer: Orion
Release: Apr. 28, 2015
Type: Happoushu
Alcohol: 5.5%
Purchase Price: ¥127 @Aeon

2015_Orion_Shikwasa_Cocktail_2

Tasting Notes:
If you’re living outside of Japan, chances are you’ve never heard of shikwasa before. Heck, I live in Japan and I’ve only heard of it a couple times, ordered as a cocktail in an izakaya. Native to Okinawa and Taiwan, a shikwasa (citrus dipressa) is a sour, lemon-like citrus fruit. Following the Asahi beer cocktail linage, Orion has been tasked to make this Okinawan style brew. I’ve heard good things about this one, so I’m excited to try it.

Pouring this brew out, you’ll notice the citrusy aroma right off the bat. It’s quite sharp, more sourish than a lemon. Your first gulp may just lock down your taste buds in a vice. Shikwasa Cocktail is quite a bit more sour than anything you may have encountered before, there’s absolutely no sweetness what-so-ever. And although I know I’m drinking a beer-like beverage, I can’t pick up any flavors besides the sourness.

If you’re a fan of sipping coronas out of a bottle with a wedge of lime, you might consider Orion’s Shikwasa Beer Cocktail. Oddly enough, at the moment I’m in a bit of confusion, I don’t really have anything bad to say about it, but I don’t know if I actually like it. The more I sip on this brew, a little bit of fruitiness comes out, as well as hints of maltiness and hoppy bitterness. I do feel that this is a must-try-brew, so if you get the chance, do check it out while it’s still on store shelves. Cheers!

This entry was posted in Happoushu and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

