Sapporo Mugi to Hop The gold

2014_Sapporo_MugiToHop_The_Gold_1

Japanese Name: サッポロ 麦とホップ The gold
Brewer: Sapporo
Release: Feb. 4, 2014
Type: Happousei (発泡性)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥100 @Aoki (6-Pack)

2014_Sapporo_MugiToHop_The_Gold_2

Tasting Notes:
Question, how does a beer brewer get around brewing laws to create a beer-taste beverage that is states its rich taste as “produced by carefully-selected high quality barley and hops?” It must be some form of industrial sorcery! Yet here we have Sapporo’s Mugi to Hop The Gold, made with Rich Gold malt and Golden Aroma hops, and is the reason for “The gold” in its title. We’ll have to see if Mugi to Hop The gold can hold on to its space in my refrigerator.

The gold pours out very nicely into the glass, with lots of tiny bubbles forming the head. It does have a comforting at home golden color, a shade deeper than some Japanese brews. The nose is very refreshing with a hint of sweetness. In the first gulp there’s not much flavor up front, however the bitterness kicks in mid-palate and lingers down the throat. It has sharp acidic notes, like apple juice with the sweetness that comes through. This sweetness also imparts a fuller body to this brew.

Since release, I’ve probably gone through about 2 or 3 cases of Sapporo Mugi to Hop The gold. In comparison to the original, which was my daily drinker, The gold has much more bitterness. However, it’s almost medicine-like, such as the coating on aspirin pills. Truth be told, I wish Mugi to Hop would go back to the original recipe… think Coca-Cola Classic. Sapporo sure did put a lot of bitterness into The gold, but its industrial manufactured flavor is just too fake. Since I started drinking The gold I’ve gotten used to the flavor, so for now Sapporo Mugi to Hop The gold is still my daily. But watch out Sapporo, I’m ready to jump ship!

This entry was posted in Liqueur (Happousei) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sapporo Mugi to Hop The gold

  1. Anthony Krese says:

    Really surprised me they changed the taste. The original recipe was popular enough to have a black and red version. As many have said it was pretty darn good for happousei.

    It seemed quite a bit more dry to me than the previous recipe. Maybe it was the sharpness you were describing. Anyway, it’s not for me.

    I’m looking for a new go-to drink in that price range (so I can buy in bulk) but can’t really settle on anything.

    • DM says:

      I agree, I can’t believe they made such a drastic change. I originally thought they were just doing it for the Olympics, but when Mugi to Hop disappeared from the shelves I was shocked. I’m still drinking this and have gotten used to the flavor, but would love to find a replacement. Let me know if you find anything.

  2. Anthony Krese says:

    Boo hoo, I think they changed the Mugi to Hop Black recipe, too. I kept asking myself, what is this weird taste. Is it alcohol coming through? Rubbing alcohol taste? Then I reread this review. “…the coating on aspirin pills”. BINGO!

    Honestly, it’s tolerable. But there are other cheap beers without funky tastes (like Asahi Prime Rich). I won’t say I’ll never drink it again. But I’ll probably just buy a Sapporo Hokkaido Premium instead.

    • DM says:

      That’s too bad. Outside of the beer reviews, I never buy black lagers so I would have never noticed. You get used to the taste after a while, I’ve been drinking Mugi to Hoppu and don’t really notice the bitterness anymore.

  3. Pingback: Because Japan – snowsoversapporo

Leave a Reply

