Sapporo Migaki Mugi Sawayaka Hop

2013_Sapporo_Migaki_Mugi_Sawayaka_Hop_1

Japanese Name: サッポロ みがき麦 爽やかホップ
Brewer: Sapporo
Release: Jul. 2013
Type: Liqueur (発泡性)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥105 (est.) @Aeon

2013_Sapporo_Migaki_Mugi_Sawayaka_Hop_2

Tasting Notes:
My significant other purchased this limited production new genre brew made by Sapporo for the Aeon Group. At first glance, I thought it was plain old Sapporo Migaki Mugi, which I had previously written about in February. So there it sat in my refrigerator, for over a month. Needing to make some space in the fridge I took it out, and immediately noticed the packaging was different. Images of hop buds graced the package along with the gentei seizou emblem denoting limited production. Hitting up google to find a press release turned up dry, so I don’t have any side notes to write about. Let’s get on with the show!

Sapporo Migaki Mugi Sawayaka Hop, uses “fresh” hops and usually when they do, as I’ve written in the past, the beer has a strong cut grass, “green” flavor. Sawayaka Hop does too, but it’s much more toned down. Your first gulp has a lot of effervescence tickling the tip of the tongue giving a crisp mouth feel, while the bitterness kicks mid to back going down the throat.

The reason this can of Sapporo Migaki Mugi Sawayaka Hop sat in my fridge for so long was because I really didn’t enjoy the standard version. However, Sawayaka Hop had just the right amount of bitterness and fresh hop flavor to make it an interesting drink. Being a limited production brew released two months ago, you’re probably not going to find it on the store shelves of your neighborhood Aeon grocer anymore. But next year, Sawayaka Hop might be back and if it returns, do チェキラー check it out.

This entry was posted in Liqueur (Happousei) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sapporo Migaki Mugi Sawayaka Hop

  1. Started laughing while reading this. I’ve got one of these sitting in the fridge. Been passing it over for the 3 weeks. I tried the plain Migaki Mugi and found it pretty boring for my taste. You’ve given me some motivation to finish this one off, haha.

  2. Nice hop flavor on this. Definitely better (for me) than the plain one. Though nothing unique / compelling enough that would make me want to buy it again. Looking forward to the fall brews and craft beers sitting in the fridge 🙂

Leave a Reply

