Asahi x Orion Okinawa Dayori (Diary)

2013_Asahi-Orion_Okinawa_Dayori_1

Japanese Name: アサヒ オリオン 沖縄だより
Brewer: Orion 
Release: Jul. 23, 2013
Type: Liqueur (発泡性)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥141 @Lawson

2013_Asahi-Orion_Okinawa_Dayori_2

Tasting Notes:
Just released to the masses of Japan yesterday was Okinawa Dayori (spelled diary in the western world), a joint venture by brewers Asahi and Orion (an Asahi subsidiary). On the can Asahi provided the “clear hop aroma” technology while Orion utilized their proprietary double filtration process and Yanbaru spring water, in addition to brewing the sucker. So, the question is how does it taste.

In the glass, it has a dark golden hue, darker than many Japanese lagers. It definitely has a nice hoppy malt aroma, but lurking deep-deep underneath is a mediciney shadow, ever-so faint ammonia?? Maybe it’s just me… Anyway, gulp it down and you’ll find some bitterness that tickles the tip of the tongue. It’s got a fuller body, silky texture in the mouth. I didn’t want to write this at first, but there is some corn flavor on the mid-palate, checking the can corn is an ingredient… surprising, but this is the third tier category, anything goes. The finish is clean with a touch of sweetness and a little tang.

In the end, Asahi and Orion have done a pretty good job here. Okinawa Dayori is a decent new genre brew. Those of you who have not settled on a cheap brand might probably consider drinking this one over the summer months. I do think there are more appealing third tier brews currently on the market for my tastes, but if you’re the adventurous type do give Okinawa Dayori a go.

This entry was posted in Liqueur (Happousei) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Asahi x Orion Okinawa Dayori (Diary)

  1. I’m having a hard time finding Orion beer up here. I’ll have to find a Lawson and stop in.

  2. Found Orion Draft (in a can) at Aeon. I checked but didn’t see a review of it on here.

    It’s OK. I think it has a little more flavor / character (on the front end) than Asahi Super Dry. But it finishes similar to Super Dry with that sort of floral hop. I guess I’m just not a big fan of that. I can appreciate it for what it is and I’d probably take one of these over a Super Dry.

    I think it would have been better to drink this while eating something. The sweetness (lack of bitterness) would balance out some salty food like sushi, pizza, hot dog, etc.

    • DM says:

      I’ve seen Orion Draft around, but for some reason I’ve never picked it up… dunno why. On a side note, I’ve been seeing Sapporo Classic a couple of stores here. Nice to know I can get it without having to travel to Hokkaido or buy a case online.

      • Well, it’s always fun to try new beers but I wouldn’t expect too much. The front end is decent. Though it’s all personal preference.

        Nice. Sapporo Classic is a great to have available in that price range of beers (198 at Aeon up here)… though they’ve brought down the price of Premium Malts to 205-208.

  3. DM says:

    One of the reasons I stick to the limited releases, they tend to be a little more interesting. Still, I try to get around to it one of these days.

Leave a Reply

