Asahi Royal Pils

2013_Asahi_Royal_Pils_2

Japanese Name: アサヒ ロイヤルピルス
Brewer: Asahi
Release: Apr. 23, 2013
Type: Japanese Beer
Alcohol: 5.5%
Purchase Price: ¥198 @Aeon

2013_Asahi_Royal_Pils_1

Tasting Notes:
Released in tandem with Suntory Royal Blend, super grocer/retail chain Aeon put the handcuffs on one exclusive Asahi Royal Pils. Is this even legal? Let’s find out!

In contrast to the Royal Blend’s tan color, we have Asahi’s Royal Pils pouring out a light straw… at first glance its you average brew, but wait! Hmm… we have a hint of citrus coming out of the glass, it’s fresh and hoppy… interesting. Your first gulp will embrace your mouth with a well rounded full bodied flavor, with the bitterness hitting the back of the throat.

Asahi’s Royal Pils is a very nice brew indeed, well rounded is the key here. You have your malt flavors up front, bitter hops on the back, with citrus notes. It’s a perfect brew to toast the coming of summer! Get yours exclusively at your nearest Aeon grocer, while supplies last.

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Asahi Royal Pils

  1. Guess I’m making a trip over to Aeon 🙂

    I’ll have to pick up one of these and a Suntory Royal. They sound good.
    Nice they kept them under 200 Yen.

  2. Apparently, the Aeon by me isn’t going to carry these new brews. Yeah, I actually asked, haha.
    I have to go out of town again a few times in the near future. I’m hoping I’ll be able to salvage one of these.

    I was just in Sapporo and I managed to find an Asahi The Master Pilsner. Have you had it? I searched but didn’t see a review on here.

    • DM says:

      Hope you can get your hands on both of these Aeon exclusives. As for The Master, yes I’ve had it before… I thought I had reviewed it, I didn’t. Looks like I had it back in 2009, before I started this blog. I’ll have to dig up a can and write it up. My fridge is clear of beers to review, so I’d better head out to the supermarket.

Leave a Reply

