Asahi Super Dry: Taste the Freshness

2013_Asahi_Super_Dry_Fresh1

Japanese Name: アサヒ スーパードライ<鮮度実感 2缶パック>
Brewer: Asahi
Release: Mar. 30, 2012
Type: Japanese Beer (ビール)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥434 for 2 350mL cans @Sankus

2013_Asahi_Super_Dry_Fresh4

Tasting Notes:
A little over a year ago, Asahi decided it needed to deliver straight from the brewery freshness to its beloved Asahi Super Dry drinkers. Specially marked packages were delivered to a limited number of stores across the country each month. These limited “fresh packs” contain your average Asahi Super Dry but are delivered from the factory in under three days. After a year of searching, I finally stumbled upon one of the recent conbini limited packages at Sankus. This particular shipment arrived in-store on April 26th, and was consumed on April 27th, four days at most after canning. Let’s see what fresh Super Dry tastes like.

Popping the top, it definitely smells different. There’s a very yeasty funky odor, sweaty socks? Your first gulp will be very bitter, but it dissipates as the beer sits in the glass… therefore, drink immediately after pouring. Compared to the normal can, there’s more of a yeast flavor, a little more bitterness, and just a fuller body in general.

Guaranteeing this freshness costs a mere extra 2 yen per can in the 350mL twin pack. And while the novelty of this limited offering makes it worth trying, you won’t be catching this beer drinker buying fresh Asahi Super Dry on a regular basis.

2013_Asahi_Super_Dry_Fresh2

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Asahi Super Dry: Taste the Freshness

  1. Just heard about this. I’ll have to add a couple of these to my Golden week stash.

    • DM says:

      I wouldn’t go out of my way to find it… but if you do, make sure you drink it right away. Otherwise, you’ll just be buying your normal Super Dry 🙂

  2. I don’t know. I don’t dislike this beer, it has its place and I drink it from time to time. But I just can’t get excited about it. I find myself reaching for a Sapporo or a Kirin Lager before this.

  3. DM says:

    Aside from this “fresh pack” I don’t think I’ve ever purchased a can of Asahi Super Dry for personal consumption. I’ve bought for gifts or to bring to someone’s house, but I too have always reached for Sapporo or Kirin when buying for myself. Great minds think alike 🙂

Leave a Reply

