Sapporo Mugi to Hop Black

Sapporo Mugi to Hop Black Can

Japanese Name: サッポロ 麦とホップ 黒
Brewer: Sapporo
Release: Oct. 26, 2011
Type: Happousei(発泡性)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥139 @ Sankus (conbini)

Sapporo Mugi to Hop Black Pour

Tasting Notes:
Sapporo recently released Japan’s first black lager style dai-san beer, last month. After reading the press release in August, I’ve been patiently waiting to get my hands on a can, and finally I’ve had some time to sit down and see what this black happousei is all about. Let’s pop the top.

While I do like dark beers, they’re not something that I drink everyday, but in short, Sapporo’s Mugi to Hop Black is simply delicious. This beverage pours out dark as expected, giving off a nice head, while the first gulp was filled with a robust malt flavor with nice chocolate tones. The flavors continue to linger in your mouth long after your first gulp.

Sapporo continues to be the leader in innovative beers, and has hit one out of the park with its Sapporo Mugi to Hop Black. If you’re a dark beer fan, of the Japanese variety, Sapporo Mugi to Hop Black is a must try.

Press Release
Official Site

This entry was posted in Liqueur (Happousei) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sapporo Mugi to Hop Black

  1. You’ve got to give it to Sapporo for this one. For this genre of beer, it’s quite impressive.

    I need to try a half and half with Mugi to Hop and Mugi to Hop Black.

  2. DM says:

    I see you’re digging up my archives:-)

    It’s an excellent drink, hand down… I’d put it in front of Asahi Dry Black and probably even the more recent Yebisu Premium Black. The half and half sounds good too, let me know how it tastes.

  3. Tried the half and half today. Good stuff and a fun experiment!!!

    For the first round I just mixed them together. Still turned out very dark in color. It made Mugi to Hop Black hoppier, which was fine by me. It also took a slight edge off of the malt, which made it more licorice tasting than roast / chocolate, not bad but not really an improvement for me. I’d probably do it again.

    For the second round I poured in the Black first and then poured in Mugi to Hop gently with a spoon (two tone style). This tasted more like a very strong, dark, robust fall brew. Didn’t really get that same licorice flavor. It was like a fall brew with hints of roast and dark chocolate. That lasted about 1/2 to 3/4 of the beer. Then it just tasted like Mugi to Hop Black. Will definitely do this again.

    • DM says:

      Anthony, thanks for posting the write-up. I had both black and normal in the fridge a month ago, but never got around to mixing them. I definitely need to try it!

Leave a Reply

