TopValu Barreal Lager Beer

TopValu Barreal Lager Beer Can

Japanese Name: トップバリュ バーリアル ラガービール
Brewer: Unnamed Korean brewer in cooperation with TopValu
Release: Aug. 8, 2011
Type: Japanese Beer (ビール)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥158 @Aeon

TopValue Barreal Lager Beer Pour

Tasting Notes:
After the success of Barreal released under TopValu, Aeon Group’s private label, several subsequent beer-taste beverages have been added to the product line. The most recent, is TopValu Barreal Lager Beer which is quite surprising given its ¥158 price point. It accomplishes this feat by utilizing beer from a Korean brewer. TopValu Barreal Lager Beer is no slouch, brewed with 100% malt and German hops. Let’s see if this beer can give the likes of Ichiban Shibori, Malt’s, and Yebisu et al. a run for their money.

Out of the can, Barreal Lager Beer has a deep golden color, giving a hint as to what kind of flavor is in there. After drinking mostly new-genre beverages, my first gulp had a “chewy” thickness to it, loaded with flavors of malt and hops, and just the right amount of bitterness.

The conclusion, TopValu Barreal Lager Beer is fantastic. At its 158 yen per 350mL can, unless you’re really running on a tight budget, you can opt for a true beer, with a wonderful rich taste to drink everyday. Give it a try!

Official Site

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TopValu Barreal Lager Beer

  1. I just stumbled upon this Barreal Lager Beer at Aeon here in Asahikawa for the first time today. I was there to buy CHIMAY Blonde, and did so, but I couldn’t resist the all malt beer at 158 yen per can. I bought 2 cans, and just finished drinking the first one from a wide mouth glass mug. You can’t beat this taste at this price in Japan. I will recommend it to all of my friends who drink Happoushu and Dai San Biiru. It doesn’t match up to Yebisu or Sapporo Classic, but on a budget, this would be my first choice. Give it a try!

  2. I love this beer, and at that price it is truly great value. I actually did a small blind taste test, setting this against Kirin Ichiban. The result? Barreal was preferred by all participants.

  3. I’m late to the party on this one. 🙂

    I didn’t know what to expect at 158 a can. But I wasn’t expecting that. I can see why it’s still on the shelf 2 years later. I’m a sucker for that type of flavor profile, so I’ll be coming back to this one again. I’d have no shame serving this “budget” beer to guests.

Leave a Reply

