Kirin Ichiban Shibori 2010 Toretate Hop

Kirin Ichiban Shibori Toritate Hop 2010 Can

Japanese Name: キリン 一番搾り 2010 とりたてホップ
Brewer: Kirin
Release: Nov. 2, 2010
Type: Beer(ビール)
Alcohol: 5%
Purchase Price: ¥207 @Jusco

Kirin Ichiban Shibori Toritate Hop 2010 Pour

Tasting Notes:
First released in 2004, this season marks the 7th harvest of hops from Tono in Iwate Prefecture to produce the 2010 vintage of Kirin Ichiban Shibori Toretate Hop. Kirin makes this beer with its “ichiban shibori” method using the first fermentation of the wort, adding only the freshly picked Tono hops for maximum flavor. My first taste of Toretate Hop was the 2008 harvest, and I recall liking it quite a bit. However, the weather in Japan this year was quite unfavorable to the Japanese farmer, so let’s see how the 2010 harvest faired.

Out of the can, the fragrant hoppy aroma is quite strong. My first impression was “citrus,” reminding me quite a bit of the Belgian White I reviewed previously. The taste of this beer is amazingly fresh, like the hops were picked right in front of your nose, but without being overbearing in any way. A perfect amount of effervescence compliments and brings the well rounded flavor across the tongue and down the throat.

As the name states, hops are what this beer is all about, with freshness being the key. However, being a beer for the Japanese mass market, the hop level is kept in check; Kirin does not pull out all the stops like you’d find in a microbrew. The lower amount of hops is what I like about Japanese beers, making sure that the flavor of the hops does not overwhelm the overall experience. Kirin Ichiban 2010 Toretate Hop is definitely worth a try. Find it at your local conbini or super market while supplies last.

Official Site

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kirin Ichiban Shibori 2010 Toretate Hop

  1. So that’s what “Ichiban Shibori” means! I’ve often wondered, guess I should have found that out by now though, lol. Been in Japan 5 years.

    This is another one sitting in my fridge waiting to be tasted. (I’ve got about 5 waiting for when I have time…including one of the new trend of 0% beers, but I keep putting that off, wonder why? 🙂 ).
    Will let you know what I think…

  2. DM says:

    Came across this post today, and he gives a better explanation about the process.

    I know what you mean about making time for beer reviews, I just stocked up on some myself. I would definitely put off the zero-alcohol/carb/calorie “beers,” on occasion you’ll wish you could un-drink them.

  3. Wow, has it really been 3 months since I said I would try this lager! I actually drank it a few weeks later, but have only just got around to writing up my review.

    Have to say though I wasn’t too impressed, (although it did score a little higher than the 2009 version).
    Anyway, I said I’d let you know what I thought…
    My review is here

  4. DM says:

    Thanks for the ping, and for posting your review Jim!

  5. Pingback: Kirin Ichiban Shibori 2011 Toretate Hop | Beers of Japan

Leave a Reply

