Suntory The Premium Malt’s Black

Suntory The Premium Malts Black Can

Japanese Name: サントリー ザ・プレミアム・モルツ 黒
Brewer: Suntory
Release: Oct. 19, 2010
Type: Beer(ビール)
Alcohol: 5.5%
Purchase Price: ¥210 @Jusco

Suntory The Premium Malts Black Pour

Tasting notes:
Suntory The Premium Malt’s Black seems to be released yearly around the end of autumn. Unusually, this year there was no press release, and it’s not even listed on their website in their current product line-up. However, convenience store 7-Eleven is pushing this one pretty hard, with the one I went to having a full three shelves stocked full at eye level. Could this possibly be a new marketing scheme? Interesting. Afterall, Suntory does produce 7-Eleven’s Private Label brew.

While I do like dark beers, they’re not something I reach for everyday like some people. This Suntory Black was one I hadn’t seen in a while, so it screamed “BUY ME!” and I pulled the trigger. According to ratebeer.com this black is a Schwarzbier, and after tasting it Suntory The Premium Malt’s Black definitely fits the flavor profile. To me, it’s on the heavy side for a Japanese beer, but not overbearing in any way. Lots of cocoa and charcoal-ish flavors and aroma from the roasted malt, and just a hint of sweetness counteracts any bitterness you might expect.

If you’re expecting a stout like Guinness, you might be better off just buying Guinness. However, this black lager definitely has a fuller bodied taste that will satisfy those looking for something more flavorful than the average lager. Give it a try while it’s in the stores.

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Suntory The Premium Malt’s Black

  1. This beer’s been sitting in my fridge for a couple of weeks now, sounds interesting, might dig it out tonight.

    Kanpai!
    Jim

  2. DM says:

    Although I’ve had most of the black beers, this was the first one I reviewed. I’d like to hear what you think of it. Kanpai back at ya!

  3. I got around to drinking and reviewing the Premium Malst Black the other night, and it was alright, but nothing too special I thought. Noticeably very dry.
    Certainly drinkable though.

  4. DM says:

    It would be interesting to try a flight of black lagers from the big four. I’ll have to buy some of the others and give them a try sometime soon.

  5. I’ve tried the Kirin Ichibian Shibori Stout and the Premium Yebisu The Black (from Sapporo) recently and I scored them just slightly better thant the Premium Malts Black.
    Neither were anything amazing, although the Yebisu did have a big hit of caramel toffee on the aftertaste, which was good.

    Not tried Asahi Black yet though.

  6. This is my favorite of the macro dark beers. I like the fact that the roasted barley notes aren’t overly roasted.

Leave a Reply

