Asahi Super Dry “Dry Black”: Not the black you’d expect.

Asahi Dry Black Can

Japanese Name: アサヒスーパードライ -ドライブラック-
Brewer: Asahi
Release: Apr. 3, 2012
Type: Japanese Beer
Alcohol: 5.5%
Purchase Price: ¥?? @Sankus

Asahi Dry Black Pour

Tasting Notes:
Amidst the wall of new genre offerings lining the store shelves, is a true Japanese beer according to Japanese law. This black lager from Asahi Super Dry is dubbed “Dry Black” and they’ve got Texas Ranger sensation Yu Dalvish pitching this bad boy in a black leather jacket here in Japan.

Pop the top and pour it into the glass, and you have the dark goodness you’ve been waiting for. There’s not much on the nose; blind folded, you might not even think it was beer. My first gulp, was very smooth going down the hatch with a little tartness on the cheeks, and it has a very similar taste to Asahi Super Dry. Or, should I say, Asahi Super Dry stripped of its malty beer flavor.

Don’t get me wrong, it does not taste bad at all. But let’s think about why you’d want to drink a dark beer in the first place. Unless you’re drinking them all the time, the normal beer drinker is looking for a change of pace. For me, I’d like some different flavors, something more rich, nutty, chocolatey, and full bodied. Asahi has brewed a dark beer, then through some form of witchery, taken out all the things that embody a dark beer, and leave you with a less than super, dry version of a black lager. Richness… gone, nutty, chocolatey, coffee-ish flavors… gone, all you’re left with is a dark beer that tastes like a normal beer. I just don’t see the point in that.

If you’ve got an opposing argument, leave a comment. I personally will not be buying another can.

This entry was posted in Japanese Beer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Asahi Super Dry “Dry Black”: Not the black you’d expect.

  1. paul evans says:

    Its winter here in Australia and a few new beers hit the shelves. Tried one recently that was superb, it was from a rural brewer “Mildura Brewery” and labelled as Choc Hops Stout, the chocolate stood out as did the the texture and color of the stout, lingering on the palate was a faint vanilla bean flavor, all in all 4 bottles disappeared, if anyone should find them drink up. So mooorish.

    • DM says:

      I wonder if they export their beers to Japan. I’ve never seen that label where I’m located, but I’ll keep my eyes open.

  2. hardgrapes says:

    I don’t think this is such a bad tasting beer. Granted I’m not one for the aforementioned, coffee or chocolaty beers, but I think this one has a body body taste, if not quite full-bodied, to it making it preferable to normal super dry for the price. Not an actual black lager, but definitely a change of pace from the usually lighter than light Japanese beer.

  3. DM says:

    hardgrapes, thank you for the opposing comment. Yes, it’s definitely not a “bad” tasting beer. Cheers!

  4. Birdog says:

    Drank it with a meal last week when I was in Japan.
    A great beer. Full bodied, dry and didn’t take over from the food.

  5. Paul says:

    Gorgeous beer, in my opinion. Very easy on the tastebuds without being insipid and no stale aftertaste. There is also a version that contains a dash of lime that is equally good.
    By the way, have only just discovered your cracking little blog, Great stuff and keep up the good work.

  6. DM says:

    Thanks for the comment Paul. I’ve got the lime one in the lineup, but I’ve not had much time to write. Stay tuned :-)

  7. I live in Japan and taste a lot of beer until I find this one, I really love it <3 but in my country they just sell super dry :) anyway its good but I preferded dry black :B 美味しい❣

Leave a Reply

